Back to school- Tips!

“The creative adult is the child who survived”

Hey Loves!

I hope you are having a great Saturday with your loved ones! Before I start my post, I want to let you know that next week I will do a Q&A post so if you have any questions to ask me, leave me your questions in the comment section below or you can ask me on Twitter or Instagram! Now let’s jump into the post!

As you know by the title, today is a post about school! I didn’t want this post to be as an advice or what you should or shouldn’t do, I just want to share what I have learnt and what I wish I could have done differently. If it helps one person, I will be more than happy! I hope this post is not too long and if it is, sorry!

In France, we have three different transitions: school, middle school and high school. And if you move houses between these transitions, you will have many transitions! So each school was a different environment for me, I didn’t get to be with the same people so I had the opportunity to meet a lot of people.

I am not going to lie, I hated school for many reasons and I never woke up happily to go to school! But now, in the situation I am right now I realised so many things. Education is really important for anybody to succeed in life, you learn so many things, I know some of you will say that what we learn in school is not going to be useful in the future but even though we are expending our knowledge! I would say school is the biggest platform to learn so many things in life whether it’s professional or personal because we get to meet so many people through that!

What TV shows or movies portrays of school or college is partially true, not everything but some of them. You can be in any country or any city but your school and college experience will be the same!

Everybody goes through bad situation such as bullying, teasing, people making fun of each other in school, in my opinion if somebody has never been through these situations, they might have been loved by everybody or they might have been the bully. At least once in your lifetime, you will go through these situations and it will be one of the greatest experience and lesson in your life!

Be yourself! Never try to act like someone else or someone that you are not! Other people should like you for the person you are and if they don’t like for the person you are then that’s fine! Not everybody likes everybody! At the end of your journey, you will find people that truly likes you for the person you are so nobody is going to be alone forever!

I have always been myself and that’s one thing that I am really proud of, because of that I have met so many people, I have met good and not so good people but what they have taught me is the greatest lesson. Sometimes, you meet some types of people in order to create and build yourself, if you haven’t met them, maybe you won’t be the person who you are today!

Be confident! At least try to act like you are confident in order to have the confidence itself in the future! Being confident is so important and it’s one of the hardest thing to do! Don’t show that you are weak or not confident about yourself because you are kind of encouraging people to tease and bully you! People who bully always choose people who are less confident so don’t try to be in that zone! Being confident doesn’t mean to insult, hurt other people’s feelings or do the same thing as they are doing! If you try to act like them then there won’t be any difference between you and them!

If someone bullies or teases you, ignoring can be one of the answers but it doesn’t really work but you can act like you don’t care what they are saying and let me tell you it works! People always say ignoring is the only way but in my opinion when you don’t care what they are saying, they just get tired and stop.

Having friends is not a priority! I know I might sound like your parents but that’s one of the things that I have learnt! I always gave importance on my friends and social life! The first day of school, I will always think about finding a friend so I won’t be alone for the rest of the year before anything else! I am not saying friendship is not important but when life goes on, you realise so many things! Personally, I think quality is more important than quantity! I would rather have one true friend who loves me and cares for me than having a group of friends who don’t really care about myself.

Everybody is unique and different, they have different characters and personalities that’s what makes us and we have to accept each other. Even if you have one friend who truly loves you, just cherish that friendship! Never cut a friendship because other people don’t like that person because that will be one of the greatest regret in your life!

If you are not comfortable with any relationships, it can be a boyfriend, friend or anybody, just leave that person! It can be one of the greatest and nicest person in the entire world but if you are not comfortable talking to them then what’s the point! You know yourself better than anybody else and your happiness should only depend on yourself and not others! You don’t live for other people but for yourself!

Education is only a part of your life! Education is not your life! I am telling you this because I was the type of person who was addicted to studies (I am not kidding!). I always thought my education was the only way to escape the reality, I didn’t give importance to my family at all! Ever since, I went to middle school, I was just like that! I am not saying that I had a bad childhood or teenage life, I had such an amazing life, I feel so blessed and thankful everyday that’s why I am telling you this! Cherish and enjoy every moment you have with your family because they won’t come back!

Before I finish this post, I wanted to share with you what I have been through school. I was really young when I was in school, I started school when I was two and a half years old and I graduated school when I was 16 years old. I am pretty sure that I am not the only one who graduated at this age and there are people younger than me who graduated but I was the only one in my class to be this age so it was really a hard time.

I was the baby of the class when I was in school, school was good for me, if I was alone for some minutes all the boys would come to play with me! To be honest, even now I have more guy friends than girls! Then came middle school, middle school was totally fine until we move! We had to move a little bit far away so I had to change my middle school, I wasn’t sad or anything, I always loved changes in my life! I was pretty much excited when I knew I was going to move! I changed in the middle of the year, it didn’t really bother me because I knew that I would keep my grades the way it used be.

That was one of the worst years of my life, I have never met these types of people in my life, I didn’t even know that people at that age would have such a character or personality! It was one of the worst and traumatising experience! All my classmates were totally shocking, I was in a group of friends but I couldn’t really tell they were my friends by the way they acted. I don’t need to tell you that my grades completely decreased and were totally down. I was so anxious and stressed, I could see that the way I felt psychologically had an impact on my health.

I even thought I had to redo that year, I felt so embarrassed if something like that had to happen. My parents were understanding, they told me if I had to do that year again, it wasn’t a problem, I was young so I had a lot of time. Thankfully, nothing like that happened and next year was an amazing year, I had the same people in my class but the worst ones had to go to another school so it was good for me! My relationships with my friends changed and they totally changed their personality towards me! At the end of the year, we were so close but again now we had to go to a high school. My friends didn’t come with me, everybody was separated, we all went to a different a high school.

Since I was little, my parents always chose a school that was near home, we would move to be near the school so it will be easier for me to go to school (I was really lucky!). My schools will always be like 5 to 10 minutes near the house. My high school experience was completely different from all the school years I had.

My high school was equivalent to a college, the building, people, everything! I was in a “popular” group, I didn’t feel comfortable at all because the way they acted with other people. I was just in the group because I didn’t want to be alone and I was scared that other people would tease or bully me if I left them. At some point, they started to act the same way with me as well so I just decided to move and I joined with an “average” group and I totally felt the difference. I was happy, free and I felt so comfortable! That “popular” group started to do the same things for other girls in their group and they all joined different groups! What’s funny about this, the number of people in their group decreased so much that they ended up being 3 at the end of the year.

If I had to do a summary of my school years, I would say that my classmates often hated me for no reasons, I could feel jealousy and hate for no reason. Most of the time, I would think something was wrong with me and if I change, they might accept me. But I learnt very quickly that other people were wrong and were pushing me to the wrong way, my friends would tell me not to get good grades, they would call me “nerd”, they would tell me to wear the same accessories (earrings, necklaces, etc.) all over again and again because they didn’t like me wearing different accessories everyday. I wasn’t really lucky with friends but it made me realise who were my true friends. Friends should accept you for the way you are!

I always had a good relationship with my teachers and it was definitely more than teachers that’s one of the reasons I feel so blessed to have good teachers. When you have a not so good teacher, you realise the value of the previous teacher. I only had one teacher like that and I don’t even know if I would tell that experience.

I never thought I would move to another country, if you have asked me three or two years ago where I would be, I would have never thought here! I definitely had many experiences after I came here and they were life changing!

My biggest tip will be to enjoy and cherish these moments and opportunities because so many people would wish to be in your place! When people are suffering from hunger and wish at least to have a roof to protect themselves, we should feel blessed to live such an amazing life.

I hope my post wasn’t too long! I hope you have liked this post! Have a great Saturday and see you soon on my next post!

Leave a Reply

